Menu Menu

Milestones

From the early 60s on, Austrian pioneering spirit has been noticeable in space research. Today, Austria’s industry has become a recognized partner in global space projects. In this time frame, there were many important successes and events: from the full membership in ESA or major scientific contributions to the mission Rosetta up to the participation in the earth observation program Copernicus and the European satellite navigation system Galileo. Enjoy a time travel through the last decades!

photo: APA

60s

First Austrian activities in space

Austria's journey into space starts at the beginning of the 60s ­– with the participation to the comittee that intended to prepare the foundation of the European Space Agency (COPERS). In 1969 the first Austrian instrument on board of a research rocket takes off – at the initiative of Prof. Willibald Riedler. These are the first steps of the Graz University of Technology – and of Austria – into the infinite vastness of outer space.

1972

Foundation of ASA

Two years after the Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is founded in 1970, the formation of Austrian Space Agency (ASA) follows.

1983

SPACELAB

It's a true sensation: The launch of the European Spacelab with the View Port developed in Austria and 3 domestic experiments.

photo: infothek.bmvit

1987

Accession to ESA

After Austria has contributed to ESA programs since 1975, it becomes an associated member in 1981. But the true story of success only starts when by-then Science Minister Heinz Fischer signs the Treaty of Accession in 1987: Nowadays every satellite that is launched into the orbit by ESA carries Austrian technology on board.

photo: Doris Kucera

1991

AUSTROMIR-91 Mission

A mission to remember: Franz Viehböck, the first Austrian cosmonaut, travels to the space station MIR, where 14 Austrian experiments are carried out successfully.

photo: ESA

1998

Successful launch of Ariane 5

The most powerful European launch vehicle ever constructed is equipped with fuel lines produced by Magna Steyr. Today, the Ariane 5 is the leading launcher of the continent with a market share of 50%.

photo: ESA

1999

Launch of XMM-Newton

On December 10th, another Ariane 5G launcher starts to transport an important satellite into space: The X-ray satellite XMMNewton by ESA has the task to explore the most energetic processes in the universe – like the accretion onto black holes. According to plan, it will stay in operation until the end of 2022.

photo: ESA

2002

Envisat takes off

The biggest environmental satellite that was ever built in Europe goes into service in outer space. Its task: a permanent monitoring of the climate, the oceans and the surface of the earth. The highly developed instruments on board are even able to measure the height and direction of ocean waves or the growth phase of plants. On the 8th of April 2012 – after twice the life period of 5 years that was originally planned – the Envisat mission is finally completed.

photo: ESA

2003

Mars-Express

The Austrian Rudolf Schmidt leads the ESA mission Mars Express that is carried out with strong domestic contribution. Its goal: to completely map the Mars, explore its atmosphere and surface such as the material which lies 6,5 feet deep in the planet.

photo: ESA

2004

Launch of Rosetta

The Rosetta spacecraft was launched with a daring goal: After 10 years flight rendezvous for the first time in history with a comet (67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko), orbit the comet, deploy a lander to its surface and escort the comet for two years through the solar system as it orbits the sun. The venturous mission succeeds – inter alia, because the passive thermal protection “Thermal Louvres” from Magna Steyr protects the probe.The Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences was involved in five instruments aboard orbiter and lander.

2005

Landing on Saturn's moon Titan

The Cassini-Huygens mission, launched in October 1997, ranks among the most successful space missions of the last decades. One of many highlights was the landing of ESA’s Huygens probe on Saturn’s moon Titan in January 2005. Since then, a microphone built by the Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences to measure wind noise and turbulences is the most distant outpost of the institute.

photo: ESA

2006

MetOp

The first generation of meterological satellites called MetOp are launched. Due to the higher image resolution, the better observation of the polar and north atlantic region such as the more accurate measuring of temperature and moisture distribution, the reliable frequency of forecast can be extended from three up to five days.

photo: ESA

2013

First Austrian satellites

26 years after Austria's accession to ESA the first domestic satellites are transported into the orbit. Their aim is to measure the brightness fluctuations of stars. In 2017, the meteorologic satellite Pegasus constructed by the University of Applied Sciences Wiener Neustadt is launched. And in 2019 the research satellite OPS-SAT will enlarge the Austrian space fleet.

photo: ESA

2014

Copernicus is launched

In the frame of the Copernicus earth observation program, the first satellite is launched. Two years later data from this Sentinel are accessable for free under www.sentinel.zamg.ac.at. To this day they are used by many Austrian research institutes and companies.

photo: ESA

2014

Full Deployment of Galileo starts

The European satellite navigation system goes into operation in December 2016 – after the systems and functions were checked using test equipment developed by Atos Austria. Whereas RUAG Space Austria provides the important thermal isolation such as the interface electronics of the central computer.

photo: NASA

2015

Launch of NASA-Mission MMS

The Magnetospheric Multiscale Mission (MMS) investigates the dynamics of the Earth’s magnetosphere and the underlying energy transfer– with the help of three-dimensional measurements performed by four satellites. The Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is the biggest non-US partner. Together with RUAG Space Austria it is responsible for the spacecraft potential control, which compensates the electrostatic charge of the satellites and participates in the measurement of the electrical and magnetic fields.

photo: ESA

2016

First Austrian director of ESA

The 53 year old geophysicist Josef Aschbacher from Tyrol becomes the first Austrian director of ESA. His department earth observation manages the highest annual budget of the space agency.

photo: NASA

2018

ICESAT-2

The earth observation satellite of NASA is equipped with an innovative GPS-receiver made in Austria.

photo: ESA

2018

BepiColombo

In October ESA launches its spectacular mission to Mercury, the smallest and most unknown planet of the solar system. RUAG Space Austria constructed the control electronics for the solar panels, the pointing mechanisms for the electrical thrusters, the thermal insulation and the test equipment. Atos Austria provided the essential electrical devices for the ground tests. The Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences built parts of the mass spectrometer and of two magnetometers. The 21 feet high and 4,1 tons heavy space probe has to approach Mercury in large elliptical orbits and must conduct nine flybys at Earth, Venus and Mercury in order to slow down and avoid falling into the Sun.

Menu Menu

Meilensteine

Schon in den 60er Jahren macht sich erstmals österreichischer Pioniergeist in der Weltraumforschung bemerkbar‭. ‬Heute verfügt Österreich über eine Industrie‭, ‬die sich bei globalen Weltraumprojekten einen Namen gemacht hat‭. ‬

Dazwischen gab es viele bedeutende Erfolge und Ereignisse‭: ‬vom Vollbeitritt zur europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA über den wissenschaftlichen Beitrag zur Rosetta-Mission bis hin zur Mitarbeit am Erdbeobachtungsprogramm Copernicus und dem europäischen Navigationssystem Galileo. ‬Viel Spaß‭ ‬auf einer Zeitreise durch die letzten Jahrzehnte‭!‬

Foto: APA

60er

Erste österreichische Aktivitäten im All

Österreichs Weg in den Orbit beginnt bereits Anfang der 60er Jahre – mit der Beteiligung am Komitee, das die Schaffung der Europäischen Raumfahrtagentur (COPERS) vorbereiten soll. Im Jahr 1969 hebt auf die Initiative von Prof. Willibald Riedler das erste österreichische Messgerät an Bord einer Forschungsrakete in den Weltraum ab. Es sind die ersten Schritte der TU Graz und Österreichs in die unendlichen Weiten des Alls.

1972

Gründung der ASA

Nachdem 1970 das Weltrauminstitut der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissen­schaften (ÖAW) gegründet wurde, folgt zwei Jahre später die Gründung der Austrian Space Agency (ASA).

1983

Weltraumlabor SPACELAB

Eine echte Sensation ist der Start des europäischen Weltraumlabors Spacelab – mit dem in Österreich entwickelten „Weltraumfenster“ und 3 österreichischen Experimenten an Bord.

Foto: infothek.bmvit

1987

Beitritt Österreichs zur ESA

Bereits seit 1975 ist Österreich an den Programmen der ESA (European Space Agency) beteiligt, seit 1981 assoziiertes Mitglied. Doch die wahre Erfolgsgeschichte beginnt, als 1987 der damalige Wissenschafts­minister Heinz Fischer den Beitrittsvertrag unterzeichnet: Heute ist jeder einzelne Satellit der ESA, der in den Orbit startet, mit Technologie aus Österreich ausgestattet.

Foto: Doris Kucera

1991

AUSTROMIR-91 Mission

Wer kann sich nicht daran erinnern: Als erster österreichischer Kosmonaut fliegt Franz Viehböck zur Raumstation MIR. Dort werden 14 Experimente made in Austria erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Foto: ESA

1998

Erfolgreicher Ariane 5-Start

Die leistungsfähigste europäische Trägerrakete, die je gebaut wurde, ist mit Treibstoffleitungen von Magna Steyr aus Österreich ausgestattet. Heute ist die Ariane 5 die führende Trägerrakete des Kontinents, mit einem Marktanteil von über 50%.

Foto: ESA

1999

Start des XMM-Newron Satellits

Am 10.Dezember startet erneut eine Ariane 5G-Trägerrakete, um einen wichtigen Satelliten ins All zu bringen: Der Röntgensatellit XMM-Newton der ESA Weltraumagentur soll die energiereichsten Prozesse im Universum erforschen – wie zum Beispiel den Materieeinfall auf schwarze Löcher – und laut Plan noch bis Ende 2022 in Betrieb bleiben.

Foto: ESA

2002

Envisat hebt ab

Der größte Umweltsatellit, der jemals in Europa gebaut wurde, tritt seinen Dienst im Orbit an. Seine Aufgabe: die ständige Überwachung des Klimas, der Ozeane und der Erdoberfläche sowie im Allgemeinen des Ökosystems der Erde. Die hochentwickelten Instrumente an Bord sind sogar in der Lage, die Höhe und Richtung von Meereswellen sowie die Wachstumsphasen von Pflanzen zu messen. Am 8. April 2012 – nach mehr als der doppelten ursprünglich geplanten Lebensdauer von fünf Jahren – wird die Mission von Envisat schließlich beendet.

Foto: ESA

2003

Mars-Express

Der Österreicher Rudolf Schmidt leitet die mit starker heimischer Beteiligung durchgeführte ESA-Mission Mars Express. Ziel: die vollständige Kartografierung des Mars, die Erforschung von Atmosphäre und Oberfläche sowie des Materials, das sich in bis zu zwei Metern Tiefe befindet.

Foto: ESA

2004

Start von Rosetta

Die Raumsonde Rosetta startet in den Orbit, mit einem gewagten Ziel: Sie soll nach 10 Jahren Flug erstmals in die Umlaufbahn eines Kometen einschwenken (67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko), diesen zwei Jahre lang durchs Sonnensystem begleiten und dabei sogar ein Landemodul auf der Oberfläche absetzen. Die verwegene Mission gelingt – unter anderem auch deshalb, weil der passive Thermalschutz „Thermal Louvres“ von Magna Steyr die Sonde schützt. Das Weltrauminstitut der ÖAW war an insgesamt vier Messgeräten auf Orbiter und Lander beteiligt.

2005

Landung am Saturnmond Titan

Die Cassini-Huygens Mission, die im Oktober 1997 gestartet wurde, ist eine der erfolgreichsten Missionen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Einer von vielen Höhepunkten war die Landung der ESA-Sonde Huygens auf dem Saturnmond Titan im Jänner 2005. Seit diesem Zeitpunkt ist ein Mikrophon, das vom Institut für Weltraumforschung der ÖAW gebaut wurde, um Windgeräusche und Turbulenzen zu messen, der entfernteste Außenposten des Institutes.

 

Foto: ESA

2006

MetOp

Die erste Generation von Meteorologie-Satelliten namens MetOp wird gelauncht. Dank der höheren Bildauflösung, der besseren Beobachtung der Polar- und Nordatlantik­region sowie der noch genaueren Messung von Temperatur- und Feuchtigkeitsverteilung kann das zuverlässige Vorhersageintervall von drei auf fünf Tage verlängert werden.

Foto: ESA

2013

Erste österreichische Satelliten

26 Jahre nach dem Beitritt Österreichs zur ESA werden die ersten österreichischen Satelliten ins All transportiert: Der von der Technischen Universität in Graz gemeinsam mit dem Spaceflight Lab in Toronto entwickelte Satellit TUGSAT-1/BRITE-Austria ist Teil der weltweit ersten Nanosatelliten Mission BRITE Constellation, die die Helligkeitsschwankungen von Sternen vermisst.

Foto: ESA

2014

Copernicus legt los

Der erste Satellit im Rahmen des Copernicus Erdbeobachtungs-Programms wird gestartet. Zwei Jahre später sind die Daten der Sentinels öffentlich und kostenlos unter www.sentinel.zamg.ac.at zugänglich. Sie werden bis heute von zahlreichen österreichischen Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen genutzt.

Foto: ESA

2014

Beginn des Vollausbaus von Galileo

Das europäische Satellitennavigationssystem wird vor seinem Start im Dezember 2016 auf Herz und Nieren geprüft: mithilfe von Test, die von Atos Austria entwickelt werden. RUAG Space Austria wiederum liefert die notwendige Thermalisolierung sowie die Schnittstellenelektronik des Zentralcomputers.

Foto: NASA

2015

Start der NASA-Mission MMS

Die Magnetospheric Multiscale Mission (MMS) untersucht die Dynamik des Erdmagnetfeldes und die zugrundeliegenden Energietransferprozesse – dies geschieht mit der Hilfe von vier Satelliten, die es erlauben, dreidimensionale Messungen zu machen. Das Institut für Weltraumforschung (IWF) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften ist der größte nicht-US Partner bei dieser Mission und beteiligt sich an den Messungen der elektrischen und magnetischen Felder. Das Institut ist gemeinsam mit RUAG Space Austria für die Potentialkontrolle der Raumsonde verantwortlich. Diese kompensiert die elektrostatische Aufladung des Satelliten.

Foto: ESA

2016

Ein Österreicher als ESA-Direktor

Der 53jährige Geophysiker Josef Aschbacher aus Tirol wird der erste österreichische ESA- Direktor. Sein Ressort, die Erdbeobachtung, verfügt über das höchste Jahresbudget der Weltraumagentur.

Foto: NASA

2018

ICESAT-2

Der NASA-Erdbeobachtungssatellit ist mit einem innovativen GPS-Empfänger made in Austria ausgestattet.

Foto: ESA

2018

BepiColombo

Im Oktober startet die ESA ihre spektakuläre Mission zum Merkur, dem kleinsten und unbekanntesten Planeten unseres Sonnensystems. Während RUAG Space Austria u.a. die Steuerungs­elektronik für die Solar-Paneele, die Positionsmechanismen für die elektrischen Triebwerke, die Thermalisolation sowie Testausrüstung entwickelt und baut, liefert Atos Austria die notwendigen elektrischen Einrichtungen für Bodentests. Das Institut für Weltraumforschung der ÖAW ist teils federführend an zwei Magnetometern und einem Massenspektrometer beteiligt. Die 6,40 Meter hohe und 4,1 Tonnen schwere Raumsonde BepiColombo muss sich ihrem Ziel in großen elliptischen Bahnen nähern und neun Mal an Planeten vorbeifliegen, um zu entschleunigen und nicht auf die Sonne zu fallen.