Menu Menu

Earth observation

There's a good reason why we constantly improve in predicting natural desasters like floodings or earth quakes: high-tech guardian angels are circling around the earth every second, 24 hours per day. Satellites transmit reliable pictures, altitude and meteorological data – that also helps, in a case of emergency, to get to those people who are affected more quickly.

By the way: Today, all satellites that are sent into space by ESA (European Space Agency) carry Austrian technology on board.

Thanks to special radar images we are able to observe the calving of icebergs or the movement of sea ice very precisely from space today. Even soil fertility is directly measurable – important factors to meet the climate challenges of our time as good as possible.

photo: ESA

Accurate position determination on all Sentinel satellites of the earth observation system Copernicus is provided by the highly advanced equipment from RUAG Space Austria, Vienna. Another company from Innsbruck in Tyrol is also strongly involved: GeoVille is European market leader for satellite data solutions for earth observation.

In June 2017 the third Austrian research satellite was launched into orbit: weather observation satellite Pegasus – developed by the University of Applied Sciences Wiener Neustadt, the Space Team of the Vienna University of Technology and the Space Tech Group STG. The aim is to explore the thermosphere, which is the the second highest layer of Earth's atmosphere.

Satellite Navigation

Whether travelling by car or plane, on a sailing ship or simply by hiking through the wildnerness: Modern satellite navigation helps us to arrive savely at our destination – and has been an integral part of our daily life for a long time.

Austrian companies have contributed a lot to these achievements: For instance, the European satellite navigation system Galileo – launched in December 2016 ­– was equipped with innovative technology made in Austria. RUAG Space Austria provided the thermal isulation of the satellites and interface electronics of the central computer; Atos Austria developed special tests to check the systems and functions on the ground before the take off. 

photo: ESA

From 2019 on, everyone is able to navigate worldwide – thanks to the European navigation system Galileo.  Up to this point this was only possible in combination with navigation systems that were under military control, such as those from the US, Russia or China.

Galileo satellites are circling the earth in a distance of about 14.420 miles, which takes approximately 14 hours each time. Every satellite ist equipped with high-accuracy atomic clocks that were tested in Austria. They are meant to reach a measuring precision of one metre and even less – which is more accurate than the American GPS system.

photo: ESA

Modern satellite navigation devices still become more accurate, which is not least due to the know-how of JOANNEUM RESEARCH and TeleConsult Austria. Both companies keep working constantly to improve the precision and interference resistance of the satellites.

Telecommunication

Today we meet space research at every turn – for example by using the internet or mobile communications whenever we want, wherever we are.

But also think of important large-scale events that are transmitted around the planet like the Soccer World Championship or the Viennese New Year's Concert, where fans around the globe take profit of the technical achievements from outer space – thanks to synchronous live broadcastings that are accurate to a hundredth of a second.

photo: ESA

At this moment, about 1.400 satellites from many different countries are travelling through space. And there will be thousands more – if only to garantuee that even in distant regions of this world you can count on a reliable internet connection.

Satellite television has been a nice part of our leisure time for very long. This is how it works: TV-stations broadcast their program up to satellites that are orbiting the earth – and they transmit those programs back to earth. One of the big benefits of satellite TV is the big variety it provides.

What would modern life be without mobile communiations? Today we are totally used to communicate with others whenever and whereever we are. That this is also possible in regions where you can normally hardly get a sufficient internet connection or mobile radio is once more due to the satellites.

Transportation

photo: ESA

From earth observation to navigation, telecommunication or emergency services: None of theses achievements would work without satellites. But to enable those high-tech missiles to deliver their precious dates from the orbit, we first have to bring them there.

Austrian companies play a big part in this field, too: Ariane 5, the most powerful European launcher ever constructed, was equipped with fuel lines made in Austria. Today, Ariane 5 is the worldwide leading launcher for the take off of large-scale satellites.

photo: ESA

In order to lead the missions of Ariane 5 to a successful end, the powerful launcher was provided with fuel lines produced by Magna Steyr – a company that is also leading in the development and production of hydrogen storage and low temperature systems.

photo: ESA

How does a material react at extremely low temperature conditions? This important question is researched by Aerospace & Advanced Composites Gmbh in Seibersdorf (AAC) who also cooperate with Magna Steyr to develope and test new composite materials.

photo: ESA

Ariane 6, which is scheduled to be launched into space in July 2020, will be the future central launcher system for the European aerospace. The Viennese company TTTech significantly contributes to the development and production of this new carrier rocket and provides important technical elements to the control system.

Space Science

From ancient times on people were always keen on exploring space and finding an answer to the question "where do we come from, where do we go to?" Whereas until a few years ago this exploration was based on astronomical observations, the development of modern rockets has made it possible nowadays to take direct measurements in space. What we discover in outer space, helps us also on Earth. Technical achievements like efficient solar cells, GPS and magnetic resonance imaging find their origin in space research.

This important branch of science has also a global protective function: Take for example the massive plasma eruptions on the Sun’s surface – they can disturb the Earth’s magnetic field and cause extensive power grid failures. Knowledge resulting from space research helps us to predict such incidents and take precautions in time.

photo: ESA

A spectacular mission was accomplished with the Rosetta spacecraft and the Philae lander module, which for the first time in history landed on a comet to study the comets composition and dynamic behavior. In September 2016 the mission was ended – after 12 years in space and an estimated 8 billion flight kilometers. The Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and Austrian Industry significantly contributed to the manufacturing of the spacecraft and the scientific instruments.

 

 

photo: ESA

On its seven-year journey to Merkur the European-Japanese probe BepiColombo has to withstand temperature fluctuations from -180°C up to +450°C. And it does – thanks to the thermal isolation developed by RUAG Space Austria. Electronical ground test equipment is equally important for the success of such a mission – this was provided by Atos Austria.The Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences built part of the scientific payload and will in future analyze the data coming from these instruments.

photo: ESA

A little scientific highlight happened in April 2018: BRITE Constellation delivered data of a nova with unprecedented time resolution and precision. In 2019 the ESA nanosatellite OPS-SAT under the lead of TU Graz will be launched. The ESA mission PRETTY which may contribute to the measurement of sea waves, will follow two years later.

Menu Menu

Erdbeobachtung

Dass wir Naturkatastrophen wie Überschwemmungen oder Erdbeben immer besser vorhersagen können, verdanken wir den hochtechnischen Schutzengeln, die ständig unsere Erde umkreisen: Satelliten übermitteln zuverlässige Bilder, Höhendaten und metereologische Messwerte – die im Notfall auch dazu beitragen, den Betroffenen vor Ort schneller zu helfen.

Übrigens: Sämtliche von der Europäischen Weltraumagentur (ESA) ins All gesendete Satelliten haben heutzutage österreichische Technologie an Bord.

Dank spezieller Radarbilder können wir inzwischen sogar das Kalben von Eisbergen oder die Bewegung von Meereseis aus dem All genau beobachten. Selbst die Fruchtbarkeit von Böden ist eindeutig messbar –wichtige Faktoren, um den klimatischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit so gut wie möglich zu begegnen.

Foto: ESA

Für eine präzise Positionsbestimmung aller Copernicus Sentinel-Satelliten sorgen die hochentwickelten Geräte von RUAG Space Austria. Die Unternehmen GeoVille Group, EODC, EOX IT Services und JOANNEUM RESEARCH mischen ebenso kräftig im All mit und erbringen Spitzenleistungen bei Satellitendatenlösungen zur Landbeobachtung.

Im Juni 2017 startete mit dem Wetterbeobachtungssatelliten Pegasus der insgesamt dritte österreichische Forschungssatellit ins All – entwickelt von der FH Wiener Neustadt, dem Space Team der TU Wien und der Space Tech Group STG. Ziel ist die Erforschung der Thermosphäre, sprich: der zweitäußersten Schicht der Erdatmosphäre.

Satellitennavigation

Ob im Auto oder im Flugzeug, auf dem Segelboot oder einfach zu Fuß in der Wildnis: Moderne Satellitennavigation hilft uns, sicher und wohlbehalten ans Ziel zu gelangen und ist aus unserem Leben nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Auch zu dieser Entwicklung haben österreichische Unternehmen wesentlich beigetragen: So ist das europäische Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo, das im Dezember 2016 gestartet wurde, mit innovativer Technologie aus Österreich ausgestattet. RUAG Space Austria lieferte die Thermalisolierung der Satelliten sowie die Schnittstellenelektronik des Zentralcomputers, und Atos Austria entwickelte spezielle Tests, mit denen sich die Systeme und Funktionen vor dem Start am Boden prüfen lassen.

Foto: ESA

Ab 2019 kann man mithilfe des europäischen Navigationssystems Galileo weltweit navigieren – bisher war dies nur mit militärisch kontrollierten Navigationsdiensten aus den USA, Russland oder China möglich.

Die Galileo-Satelliten umkreisen die Erde in einer Höhe von rund 23.200 Kilometern, was jeweils ca.14 Stunden in Anspruch nimmt. Jeder Satellit ist mit hochpräzisen Atomuhren ausgestattet, die in Österreich getestet wurden. Sie sollen eine Messgenauigkeit von einem Meter und darunter ermöglichen – genauer als das amerikanische GPS System.

Foto: ESA

Dass die heutigen Satellitennavigationsgeräte immer genauer werden, verdanken sie nicht zuletzt dem JOANNEUM RESEARCH und der TeleConsult Austria. Beide Unternehmen arbeiten kontinuierlich an der Verbesserung der Präzision sowie der Störsicherheit der Satelliten.

Telekommunikation

Weltraumforschung begegnet uns heute auf Schritt und Tritt – zum Beispiel dann, wenn wir ganz selbstverständlich jederzeit das Internet oder den Mobilfunk nutzen, wo auch immer wir uns gerade befinden.

Doch auch bei wichtigen, weltweit mitverfolgten Großevents wie der Fußball-WM oder dem Wiener Neujahrskonzert profitieren Fans rund um den Globus von den technischen Errungenschaften aus dem All – dank der zeitsynchronen, auf Hundertstelsekunden genauen Live-Übertragungen.

Foto: ESA

Rund 1.400 Satelliten aus verschiedensten Ländern der Erde befinden sich derzeit im Orbit. Es werden noch Tausende dazukommen – allein schon, um auch in entlegenen Weltgegenden eine funktionierende Internetverbindung zu garantieren.

Satelliten-TV gehört schon lange zu den Annehmlichkeiten in der Freizeit. Die TV-Stationen strahlen dabei ihr Programm zu Satelliten hoch, die auf der geostationären Umlaufbahn die Erde umkreisen, und die Programme wiederum auf die Erde ausstrahlen. Einer der Vorteile des Satelliten-TVs ist die Vielfalt, die es gewährleistet.

Was wäre unser heutiges Leben ohne den Mobilfunk? Längst sind wir es gewohnt, immer und überall mit anderen kommunizieren zu können. Dass dies sogar in Gegenden möglich ist, wo die Internetverbindung oder das Mobilfunknetz nur unzureichend ist, verdanken wir einmal mehr den Satelliten.

Transport

Foto: ESA

Ob Erdbeobachtung, Navigation, Telekommunikation oder Notdienst: Ohne Satelliten geht heute gar nichts mehr. Doch damit diese High-Tech-Flugkörper ihre wertvollen Informationen aus dem All liefern können, müssen wir sie erst dorthin befördern.

Auch dabei spielen österreichische Unternehmen eine große Rolle. So wurde die leistungsfähigste europäische Trägerrakete, die jemals gebaut wurde, mit Treibstoffleitungen aus Österreich versehen. Mittlerweile ist die Ariane 5 die weltweit führende Trägerrakete für den Start von Großsatelliten.

Foto: ESA

Damit die Missionen von Ariane 5 gelingen – der leistungsfähigsten europäischen Trägerrakete, die je gebaut wurde – wird sie mit Treibstoffleitungen von Magna Steyr ausgestattet. Auch bei der Entwicklung und Produktion von Wasserstoffspeicher- und Tieftemperatursystemen hat das Unternehmen die Nase vorn.

Foto: ESA

Wie reagiert ein Material bei extremen Tieftemperatur-Bedingungen? Diese wichtige Frage ergründet die Aerospace & Advanced Composites Gmbh in Seibersdorf (AAC), die gemeinsam mit Magna Steyr an der Entwicklung und Erprobung von neuen Verbundwerkstoffen arbeitet.

Foto: ESA

Die Ariane 6, die laut Plan im Juli 2020 ins All starten wird, soll das zentrale Trägersystem für die europäische Raumfahrt sein. Die Wiener Firma TTTech ist wesentlich an der Entwicklung und Produktion dieser neuen Trägerrakete beteiligt – und liefert unter anderem wichtige technische Elemente zur Steuerung.

Weltraumforschung

Die Erforschung des Weltalls, die Frage nach dem Woher und Wohin, ist ein uraltes Anliegen des Menschen. Bis vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war man dabei ausschließlich auf astronomische Beobachtungen angewiesen. Doch seit der Verfügbarkeit der Raketentechnik können Mensch und Maschine direkte Messungen im All vornehmen. Was wir dort entdecken, bringt uns auch auf der Erde weiter: Technische Errungenschaften wie etwa effiziente Solarzellen, GPS oder die Magnetresonanztomographie haben ihren wissenschaftlichen Ursprung allesamt in der Weltraumforschung.

Darüber hinaus hat dieser wichtige Wissenschaftsbereich aber auch eine globale Schutzfunktion: So können beispielsweise die gewaltigen Plasmaeruptionen an der Sonnenoberfläche das Magnetfeld der Erde empfindlich stören und großflächige Stromausfälle auslösen. Erkenntnisse aus der Weltraumforschung helfen uns dabei, solche Vorfälle vorherzusehen und rechtzeitig Vorkehrungen zu treffen.

 

 

Foto: ESA

Eine spektakuläre Mission gelang mithilfe der Raumsonde Rosetta und dem Philae Landungsmodel, das 2014 erstmals auf einem Kometen aufsetzte, um dessen Zusammensetzung und Veränderung zu erforschen. Im September 2016 wurde die Mission beendet – nach über 12 Jahren im All und geschätzten 8 Milliarden Flugkilometern. Am Bau des Flugkörpers und der wissenschaftlichen Instrumente waren das Institut für Weltraumforschung der ÖAW und österreichische Unternehmen wesentlich beteiligt.

Foto: ESA

Die Europäisch-Japanische Mission BepiColombo muss auf ihrer siebenjährigen Reise zum Planeten Merkur Temperaturen von -180°C bis zu +450°C aushalten. Und das tut sie auch – dank der speziell entwickelten Thermalisolation von RUAG Space Austria. Ebenso wichtig für den Missionserfolg war die elektrische Bodenausrüstung zum Testen des Satelliten – dieses Equipment wurde von Atos Austria geliefert. Das Institut für Weltraumforschung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften hat einen Teil der wissenschaftlichen Nutzlast gebaut und wird die Daten, die in Zukunft von den Messgeräten kommen, auswerten.

 

Foto: ESA

Eine kleine wissenschaftliche Sensation gelang im April 2018: die BRITE Nanosatellitenkonstellation lieferte Daten des Ausbruchs einer Nova mit bisher nicht erreichter Zeitauflösung und Genauigkeit. 2019 wird der ESA-Nanosatellit OPS-SAT unter Federführung der TU Graz gestartet. Die ESA-Mission PRETTY, die zur Messung von Meereswellenhöhen beitragen kann, soll zwei Jahre später folgen.